Facebook introduced a new API based feature that it will share profile public information with partner sites.
Let’s see what it means ?
Facebook will share your data which is not private in settings with some websites which have partnership with facebook. This is done to improve your browsing experience on those partner websites by socialising it from your facebook account.
When you are logged on facebook and visiting to any partner website, you won’t be needed to register and create account. As well as it will fetch your friends data (if its public) and enhance your experience by showing social values.
Some persons may not like this feature because of privacy issue. Unfortunately facebook has allowed such partner websites to fetch your data by default.
Using Docs.com, one of the partner site mentioned above, after the feature, you can see the parts highlighted in red are from facebook without any extra efforts.
The feature is named as “Instant Personalization”. To disable the personalization you need to tweak a privacy setting.
Uncheck the “Allow select partners to instantly personalize their features with my public information when I first arrive on their websites.” option and save settings.
Note that though you change the settings your data may appear on the websites as your friends may sharing the data.
Special thanks to Vishal for notifying me about the update.